The Struggle

When it comes to being healthy, exercising is the easy part for me. Eating right, on the other hand, is an entirely different story. I know a healthy diet is important and would help me see even better results from my workouts, but I struggle with it. Let’s face it, unhealthy food is convenient, tastier, and even cheaper than most healthy items. You can get a cheeseburger for a dollar at some places and have to pay five dollars for a salad. As a college student with a minimum wage job who just purchased a new car, every penny counts. However, I’ve been making more of an effort lately to incorporate more healthy foods into my diet. I was craving something sweet earlier today. Rather than grab a couple of delicious chocolate chip cookies, I opted for an apple with a little bit of caramel to dip it in.

IMG_4645

I realized that it was a tasty alternative and I felt better about myself for choosing it. I found several healthy snack recipes that I’m looking forward to trying and replacing my go-to chips and cookies with. I’m taking baby steps, but hopefully I can get to the point where eating healthy becomes natural instead of feeling like a chore.

Leave a comment