Hydrate to Stay Great

IMG_4467

Drink water. It’s simple and easy to do, yet many people struggle with drinking enough of it. They don’t realize how important water is to the human body. Water is vital on the small-scale and large-scale, from transporting nutrients to cells, to relieving headaches and even aiding in weight loss. If your body doesn’t get enough water, you won’t be able to perform as well in the gym, you’ll have headaches, fatigue, and many other complications. So how much is enough? The most general rule of thumb is to drink eight 8-ounce glasses a day. The amount your body truly needs is different for everyone depending on your amount of physical activity, age, weight, etc. As a runner, I typically find myself drinking more than the eight 8-ounce rule. I drink four to five 20 ounce bottles a day on average.

Before I started exercising regularly, I was one of the people who did not drink near enough water each day. Once I started making it a point to drink more, I noticed a lot of positive changes in my health and energy. Now it’s just second nature to pick up a bottle of water and carry it with me to class and work. I no longer have to think about it. I can’t stress enough how important drinking enough water is to maintaining a healthy lifestyle. It’s one of the easiest things you can do to keep healthy, so do it!

Leave a Reply

