Happiest 5k on the Planet

656

One of my favorite things about running is the multitude of incredibly fun races to participate in. Many people might be deterred by the word “race”. For a beginner it can seem a bit daunting. However, I quickly learned that these racing events are actually a fun, friendly, and laid back environment. There is always a group of runners that are there to win and take it very seriously, but the majority of people are there not to try to beat everyone but to simply enjoy themselves. When I sign up for a 5k, I set a personal goal to improve on my time from the last 5k that I ran. I never have any intention to try to make the top 3. I run for myself and don’t worry about what place I’m in.

The Color Run is a great 5k for beginners! In fact, this 5k isn’t even timed. There is no first, second, and third to compete for. It exists solely for fun, and that is exactly what it is. I ran it with my brother Nathan, his friend, Theresa, and my boyfriend, Norm. Thousands of people were there to experience it. Everyone begins the race with a white shirt on, and by the end of the 3.1 miles you’ll be covered head to toe in colors.

652634

As if being covered in powdered color at each checkpoint wasn’t entertainment enough, Nathan ran with a horse head mask on providing even more entertainment for everyone we encountered. If you’re wanting to test the waters of the racing world and see how fun it can be for yourself, sign up for the next Color Run closest to you: http://thecolorrun.com/. I highly recommend the color run! Whether it’s your first race or your 500th, you’re guaranteed to have a great time! However, if you’d rather not be periodically pelted with color, check out this site and find another type of race near you: http://www.runnersworld.com/race-finder

Leave a Reply

