Learn to Make Time

Once you make the conscious decision to begin exercising regularly, it can often be difficult to find the time to fit a workout into your daily schedule. As I stated in my first post, I attribute my desire to stay active to my three older brothers. I’ve already shared a little bit about Nathan and Tim and how they have served as my main inspiration. My oldest brother, Joseph, is the one who helped me realize that no matter how busy I may seem, there’s always time to fit in a workout.

396353_10151343548643833_370345491_n530431_10151386120938833_1026235450_n

Joseph has a degree in graphic design and is a founder and part owner in a new design and print company in Fayetteville, AR called Moxy Ox. Joseph has devoted a lot of hours and hard work into the company to help make it a success. On top of his career, Joseph is a full time husband and father to his wife, Cortney, and his two adorable children, Raylei (age 4) and Sylar (age 2). As you can imagine, he doesn’t have a lot of spare time on his hands. Despite this, he manages to make himself wake up an extra hour early in the morning so he can go for a run or go to the gym before work.

Last year, my freshman year of college, I wasn’t very good at devoting myself to a regular workout routine. I would just go whenever I didn’t work, if I felt like had spare time, or if I didn’t feel too tired. I wondered how Joseph managed to juggle all of his obligations and still find the time for the gym. Now I realize how important it is to stick to a schedule. If you workout at the same time every day, you will fall into a routine and find that making your trip to the gym becomes as natural as going to work or school each day. Perhaps mornings aren’t your thing. Don’t worry, I’m in the same boat. As much as I would love to be able to wake up at 5am every day for the gym, I find that I enjoy my cozy bed a little too much to make that happen. I prefer to workout in the evenings or at night. If you have a long lunch break, that can also be a great time to get a quick workout in. Harvard Health has an article explaining the value of maintaining an exercise routine: http://www.health.harvard.edu/newsweek/Sticking-with-your-exercise-program.htm. If you have trouble structuring your busy life, you might find these tips on time management beneficial: http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/time-management/wl00048.

Leave a Reply

