Find Your Motivation

309294_437683672948355_878551039_n548056_3747009668944_648321101_n

The desire to get fit had been planted in my mind when I saw Nathan begin to make his transformation. When my brother, Timothy, joined the United States Marine Corps, I became even more dedicated to an active lifestyle. Tim has been in the Marines for about two years now and is stationed at Camp Lejeune in North Carolina. He left on a nine month deployment at the end of March in 2012 as a part of the 24th Marine Expeditionary Unit (MEU) and returned to Camp Lejeune on December 16th. You can read a little about their mission and what this readiness response team encountered on their time away here: http://www.24thmeu.marines.mil/. They had several grueling field exercises in different countries along the way. During those exercises, they faced extreme conditions and learned how to overcome them. If I reach a point during a run where I start to feel lazy and just don’t want to push myself any more, I think of my brother and all the other men and women overseas who don’t have the luxury of stopping just because they’re tired. On my longest run, I know I still didn’t push myself as hard as the 24th MEU did while climbing the mountains of Djibouti in 130⁰ heat with 80lb packs weighing them down. When I think about it that way, it puts things into perspective and makes whatever level of fatigue I’m fighting seem a little less significant.

I’m extremely proud of Tim for his service and of Nathan for his amazing weight loss success, and I’m thankful that I have them to serve as such motivating role models for me. Finding the motivation to better yourself can often be harder than the actual physical act of doing it. I believe in order to achieve the success you desire, you must first figure out who, or what, motivates you. Once you find that motivation, you’ll be amazed by what your body is capable of. Perhaps you’re struggling to find something that you feel will truly serve as a good motivator for you. Look over this list of 31 ways to motivate yourself: http://zenhabits.net/31-ways-to-motivate-yourself-to-exercise/. Chances are you’ll discover a number of things that can give you the push you need kick start your new active lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

