What’s Stopping You?

596

As I previously mentioned, my brothers are the reason I became invested in becoming fit. It started with my brother, Nathan, and I’d like to share a little bit about his story. He graduated from Arkansas Tech University with a degree in information technology.  The job he got was putting too much stress on him. He gained a considerable amount of weight, and his health was at risk. Nathan knew he had to make a change. He began running each day after work. After a few months he decided to sign up for a 5k to motivate him further. Several 5ks later, he moved on to tackle 10ks. Once he got a couple of those under his belt, he completed two half marathons. That still wasn’t enough for him. Two years and over 100 pounds later, Nathan ran his first full marathon last October. 26.2 miles; a distance most people can’t even imagine walking without stopping, let alone running! Nathan plans on running more marathons in the future and is also about to add cycling and swimming to his training regimen. His ultimate goal is to one day compete in a triathlon.

 Nathan has truly been an inspiration to me. I realized that if he can do it, why can’t I? It’s as simple as putting one foot in front of the other. I’m nowhere near the best or fastest, but I’m still faster than those at home on the couch. I’ve already completed several 5ks, so now I’m moving on to training for a 10k. Following in Nathan’s footsteps, I’m using the Hal Higdon training program that helped him achieve such success. The training schedule can be found at: http://www.halhigdon.com/training/51122/10-K-Training-Guide-Novice-Program. Another popular training program for beginners to follow called Couch to 5k: http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/ . So what’s stopping you? Pick a program, set your goals, and run.

Leave a Reply

